Our range of awards aims to recognize the best cartographic work and scholarship from around the globe. We present trophies and prizes to individuals and companies who have shown excellence in this field.


In association with our sponsors, the Society promotes a series of prestigious awards for excellence in cartography that are open to everyone. We encourage entries from those engaged in all aspects of mapping, whether practical or theoretical, commercial or academic, using traditional or innovative techniques and research.

Presentations are usually made during the Gala Dinner at the Society’s Annual Symposium and award winners receive publicity through our publications and in other promotions.

Please contact our Awards Officer using the web form on the Apply page.

BCS Award


Best entry from winners of the major design awards

The prestigious BCS Award is presented to the entry judged to be the best from the major design awards. It comprises a special BCS Award trophy (kept for a year), a trophy to keep and a certificate.


Kenneth Field receives the BCS Award for 2016 from Dr Alexander Kent, BCS President

Stanfords Award


Best entry for Printed Mapping

Open to any mapping in the printed form, whether in the form of a poster, folded sheet map, atlas, or page from a book. The Stanfords Award comprises a trophy and a certificate and is run with the support of Stanfords map and travel book store.


Kenneth Field receives the Stanfords Award for 2016 from Richard Carpenter, representing Stanfords

Avenza Award


Best entry for Electronic Mapping

Open to any mapping available in electronic format, including interactive Internet maps, internal company-use GIS maps, and maps for PowerPoint presentations. The Avenza Award comprises a trophy and a certificate and is run with the support of Avenza Systems Inc.


Ben Scott-Robinson of Ordnance Survey receives the Avenza Award for 2016 from Dr Tim Rideout, representing Avenza

John C. Bartholomew Award


Best entry for Thematic Mapping

Presented for originality and excellence in the field of thematic cartography with emphasis on effective communication of the intended theme or themes. The John C. Bartholomew Award comprises a trophy, £500 prize and a certificate and is run with the support of HarperCollins and the Bartholomew Family.


Jane Tomlinson receives the John C. Bartholomew Award for 2016 from Jim Irvine of HarperCollins

Ordnance Survey OpenData Award


For excellence in the application of OS OpenData

To encourage excellence in cartographic design and the innovative and exciting use of Ordnance Survey OpenData, the OS OpenData Award comprises a trophy and a certificate and is run with the support of Ordnance Survey.


Ross McDonald of Angus Council receives the OS OpenData Award for 2016 on behalf of Heikki Vesanto from Paul Naylor of Ordnance Survey

The Henry Johns Award


For the best article (volume 52) published in The Cartographic Journal

Presented to the author of the best article published in The Cartographic Journal during the year. The Henry Johns Award comprises a cash prize and a certificate and is run with the support of Lovell Johns.


Martin Davis, Editorial Assistant of The Cartographic Journal, receives the Henry Johns Award for 2016 on behalf of the authors from Louisa Keyworth of Lovell Johns

The Esri UK New Mapmaker Award


For those starting out in the cartographic or related industries

Open to those who have been engaged for up to two years in the preparation of maps, including college students and new employees in commercial firms or government. Mapping can utilize cartography, geomatics and/or GIS. Entries can take any form (paper, digital, online or app). The Esri UK New Mapmaker Award is being run with the support of Esri UK.

The BCS Children’s Map Competition

MOD Id templates

For those at primary and secondary school level

This award has been developed to encourage the creative representation, by children, of their environment in graphic form. The competition is run with the support of the United Kingdom Hydrographic Office (UKHO) and is open to ages 7 to 16. There are four age groups (7 to 9, 10 to 11, 12 to 14 and 15 to 16) and the winner in each will receive £50 and a certificate.

The competition is run every two years, alternating with the ICA’s Barbara Petchenik Children's World Map Competition (details of the most recent Competition can be found at

Ian Mumford Award

For university and college students

This award is intended to encourage and recognize excellence in original cartographic research undertaken by university or college students who have been engaged in full- or part-time study towards a recognized academic qualification where cartography, maps or mapping forms the principal subject of research.

The Ian Mumford Award consists of a £200 prize, a certificate and membership of the Society for one year.


The Society Medal

For a distinguished contribution to cartography

The British Cartographic Society Medal is a gift of the Society’s Council and was instituted in 1984. It is awarded to persons who have made a distinguished contribution to cartography.